Ten Beaufort Academy students earn AP Scholar Awards

Ten students at Beaufort Academy earned the designation of AP Scholar by the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement Program (AP) Exams.

Two students — Conner Akers and Lawton Harper, both in the class of 2013 — qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.

Eight students — Mary Catherine Carmody, Tommy Fang, Emily Hutchins, Hope Keane, Finn Koppernaes, Briley Langehans, Patrick Mazzeo and Grace Stewart — qualified for the AP Scholar by completing three or more AP Examinations, with grades of 3 or higher. Seven of the students graduated with the class of 2013, while Mazzeo is a member of the class of 2014.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program provides motivated and academically prepared students the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performances on the AP exams.  About 18% of the more than 1.6 million high school students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a level to also earn an AP Scholar Award.

Students took AP Exams in May 2013 after completing the challenging college-level courses at their high schools.  The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP exams.

Most of the nation’s colleges and universities award credit, advanced placement, or both based on successful performance on the AP exams.

Previous Story

Photography Club shows off its best

Next Story

Foundation awards six teachers with mini-grants

Latest from Uncategorized


New recruits with Bravo Company, 1st Recruit Training Battalion, receive their initial gear July 19, aboard

Oaks on the block

Plans to cut down landmark trees in Port Royal draws swift public reaction By Tony Kukulich