Teachers of the year learn of selections via surprise visits

Some very special Beaufort County School District teachers were treated with gift baskets of flowers, balloons and treats last Friday as Board of Education members made surprise visits to their classrooms to announce the 2013- 2014 Teachers of the Year.

School Teachers of the Year are selected by their peers according to criteria established by the schools, the South Carolina Department of Education and the district’s Teacher Forum based on attributes outlined by student advisory councils. Next fall, the teachers honored will be eligible for District Teacher of the Year honors.

“We have so many strong teachers,” said Board of Education Chairman Bill Evans, “and this is a day when we recognize a small group of them to represent all of our outstanding professionals. The fact that they were selected through a process that involved their peers makes their recognitions even more significant.”

Acting Superintendent Jackie Rosswurm echoed Evans’ comments.  “To honor these very deserving teachers is something that the board members and I look forward to each and every year,” she said.  “It’s a wonderful opportunity to celebrate the unique gifts of our classroom teachers because they are impetus of student achievement in our district.”

The 2013-2014 Beaufort County Teachers of the Year announced are:

• Tonya    Simmons: Battery Creek High

• Katherine “Shelly” Brutcher: Beaufort Elementary

• Estee Williams: Beaufort High

• Alexis    Hines: Beaufort Middle

• Monique Loin: Broad River Elementary

• Melissa Pender: Coosa Elementary

• Alicia Weaver: H.E. McCracken Middle

• Cathy Cobbs: J.S. Shanklin Elementary

• Amy Trask: Lady’s Island Elementary

• Carolyn Dennis: Lady’s Island Middle

• Angela  Allen: Mossy Oaks Elementary

• Julie Fletcher: Okatie Elementary

• Carmen Bell: Port Royal Elementary

• Evelyn (Lisa) Harding: Robert Smalls Middle

• Eve Weaver: St. Helena Elementary

• Tammy Vaught: Whale Branch Early College High

• Laura Boozer: Whale Branch Elementary

• Vicki Cathcart: Whale Branch Middle School

• Marwin McKnight: Beaufort Jasper Academy for Career Excellence

Previous Story

USCB conducts pinning ceremony for nursing graduates

Next Story

Sanford wins First Congressional District seat

Latest from Uncategorized

Prep Basketball Roundup

Swamp Foxes finish sweep of Eagles LowcoSports.com Beaufort High’s boys made a second-half charge but couldn’t

A Beacon in the storm

By Dru Clements What seems like light years ago, during the 2016 Republican primaries, 50 Republican,