School briefs for May 18th-24th

in Uncategorized by
Ten physical therapy assistant graduates were honored at TCL’s May 11 graduation ceremony. Photo provided.
Ten physical therapy assistant graduates were honored at TCL’s May 11 graduation ceremony. Photo provided.
Thirty-four students recently earned their Associate’s Degrees in Nursing from TCL. Photo provided.
Thirty-four students recently earned their Associate’s Degrees in Nursing from TCL. Photo provided.

TCL holds May 11 pinning ceremony

The Technical College of the Lowcountry honored 34 Associate Degree in Nursing graduates and 10 Physical Therapist Assistant Associate Degree graduates at its May 11 pinning ceremony.

Students experience on-campus learning using high-tech simulation equipment and receive intense additional hands-on practice at clinical sites located throughout Beaufort, Jasper, Hampton and Colleton counties. Many students go right to work in the Lowcountry.

The physical therapist assistant graduates are Anastacia Hodgins, Jacqueline Laxton, Jessica Trani, Kyle Keister, Laura Levitt and Tara Northway, all of Beaufort; Ashley Thomas, of Colleton; Catherine Melnick, of Jasper; Kandyce Ranew, of Hampton; and Lauren “Kendall” Starks, of Charleston.

The Associate Degree in Nursing graduates are Kristin Amarino, Karin Arlett, Amy Brodeen, April Buquet, Lindsey Chaplin, Allison Conrad, Jessica Cryer, Tierra Ferrell, Heather Fulkert, Kayla Giffin, Kelly Hughes, Kathryn Lalonde, Jennifer Leggette, Erin Mikulec, Kseniya Ortino, Kyle Phillips, Angela Runyan, Robert Skinner, Thomasina Smalls, Kirsten Smith, Shelby Welch and Kristina Winland, all of Beaufort; Halle Boni, Holly Childers, Tiffany Drake Jasper, Priscilla Keiffer, Kaitlyn McTaggart, Shannon Miller, April Simmons-Smith and Emily Webster, all of Jasper County; Kenyonna Green and Jessica Long, both of Chatham County, Ga.; Rebecca Harrison, of Colleton County;  and Bethany Long, of Effingham County, Ga.

Two new programs airing on district show

Two district initiatives – one focusing on student artists and the other focusing on a special group of student athletes – will highlight the next “Our Schools” television program, which began airing May 12 on the County Channel.

“River of Words” is an annual collection of art and poetry by Beaufort County School District students, and for the first time, this year’s book will be sold to the public online via Amazon and Barnes and Noble.”  

Appearing with Superintendent Jeff Moss to explore “River of Words” will be Project Coordinator Heather Brabham, Robert Smalls International Academy art teacher Dara Ramey and Julianna Vega, a fifth-grader at Hilton Head Island School for the Creative Arts.

The school district has dramatically expanded its partnership with Special Olympics, which coordinates athletic competitions involving student athletes with disabilities.  

Guests appearing with Moss during that segment of the new “Our Schools” will be Gregory McCord, the district’s Chief Auxiliary Services Officer; Herbert Glaze, dean of students at Beaufort High School; and Kathy Cramer, area co-director for Special Olympics.

“Our Schools” is a partnership between the school district and the County Channel.

The new edition of “Our Schools” will air four times weekly: at 8:30 p.m. Mondays, 11:30 a.m. Thursdays, 8:30 p.m. Fridays and 11:30 a.m. Saturdays.  

The broadcast will air on local cable networks: Comcast’s Channel 2, Hargray’s channels 9 and 113, and Spectrum Channel 63.  

The show also will air at those times on the County Channel’s website at

In addition, the show will be archived and can be watched any time at the same link.

Seniors share experiences on new TV show

Twenty-four seniors preparing to graduate from Beaufort County School District high schools will discuss their experiences and share their opinions during a one-hour television program on the County Channel.

The seniors, selected by their high schools, will answer questions posed by Superintendent Jeff Moss.  

Students include Jonathan Buck, Ahjia Parker, Clarissa Reyes and Clinton Taylor, of Battery Creek High; Christina Adore, John Cherry, Omar Cummings and Mary Claire Sumner, of Beaufort High; and Mayra Garcia, Jazmyn Lovett, Carmin Miller and Eric Saunders of Whale Branch Early College High.

Moss will ask the seniors to share their experiences and opinions, to suggest ways to improve the district’s schools and also to give advice to younger students. 

The show will air on local cable networks: Comcast’s Channel 2, Hargray’s channels 9 and 113, and Spectrum Channel 63.  During the rest of May, the show will air on those channels at 5:30 p.m. Sundays, 8 p.m. Mondays and 11 a.m. Thursdays.

Riverview lottery set for May 30

Riverview Charter School will hold its lottery drawing for 2017-18 enrollment at 5 p.m. in the gym at the school at 81 Savannah Highway in Beaufort.

The lottery is a public meeting and parents are encouraged, but not required, to attend.  

Local college students celebrate graduation 

Following are some updates on local college students:

• James Gray, of Beaufort, has graduated from The Citadel and is among 24 men and women who are now America’s newest military officers serving in the U.S. Air Force.

• Coastal Carolina University held commencement ceremonies for an estimated 1,145 candidates for graduation May 5-6 at the HTC Student Recreation and Convocation Center on campus.

Graduates include James Cato, Abraham Coakley and Olivia Walker, all of Beaufort.

Battery Creek to get aerospace program

Six South Carolina high school students, including those at Battery Creek High School in Beaufort, will have access to aerospace engineering classes beginning in fall.

The aerospace curriculum was formally recommended to the South Carolina Department of Education by SC Aerospace – an industry cluster supported by the South Carolina Council on Competitiveness and the South Carolina Department of Commerce.  

“Talent development is a top priority for our industry,” said James Stephens, chairman of the SC Aerospace Education Working Group and executive director of the South Carolina Aeronautics Commission.  

“This curriculum is a great fit for South Carolina’s aerospace industry in particular because it is multi-disciplinary.  Students learn aerospace engineering principles and written and oral communication skills through presenting their projects to industry representatives.”

The courses are designed to appeal to students who are curious about the design and flight of aircraft and spacecraft vehicles.  

The curriculum consists of four courses: fundamentals of aerospace technology, advanced aerospace technology, aeronautics engineering application and astronautics engineering applications.  

Each school implementing the aerospace curriculum this fall will receive $50,000 from the SC Department of Education to help cover the startup costs involved with the course offerings.

State approves Polaris Tech Charter 

Polaris Tech Charter School is on its way to reality after earning approval from the State Public Charter School District Board during a May 11 hearing in Columbia.

Polaris Tech is a college- and career-focused middle/high school with a unique individualized learning model. Students will have the opportunity to study specific career paths as well as experience the workplace. The school’s ultimate goal is to prepare all students for college, career, and life.  

“This is an amazing step toward helping the young people of Jasper County find new futures,” said retired Gen. Lloyd “Fig” Newton, a member of the Polaris Steering Committee and native son of Jasper County. 

Polaris Tech is scheduled to open in summer 2018 for 160 middle and high school students. Organizers continue to examine facility options across Jasper County and decisions are expected soon.