Rotary names Officer of the Year

Beaufort Police Department Officer Sean Alford was selected as the 2013 Jesse L. Altman Officer of the Year Award sponsored by the Rotary Club of Beaufort. This prestigious award has been given annually to a deserving officer since 1973 and is named after Colonel Jesse L. Altman, former Beaufort Chief of Police. It is open to all agencies that serve in Beaufort County.

Officer Sean Alford 001Beaufort Police Chief Matt Clancy wrote this about Officer Alford during his nomination for the annual award:“During this previous year, Officer Alford has been assigned to the department’s Community Response Team. The team is designed to be staffed with three officers, but Officer Alford has been the sole member for most of the year.

Among his many accomplishments this year were the following: Completed the department’s traffic safety awareness vehicle project; represented the department at meetings with DOT and the school board in efforts to find solutions to traffic congestion problems at Beaufort Elementary School; and he also gave numerous crime prevention and informational presentations to community groups.

Officer Alford’s tireless commitment to serve the Beaufort community is an inspiration to other officers. He is a positive ‘can-do’ officer who uses a spectrum of skills to complete his mission.”

Previous Story

Beaufort Memorial Hospital executive wins award

Next Story

Celebrate the annual Gullah Festival

Latest from Uncategorized

Prep Basketball Roundup

Swamp Foxes finish sweep of Eagles LowcoSports.com Beaufort High’s boys made a second-half charge but couldn’t

A Beacon in the storm

By Dru Clements What seems like light years ago, during the 2016 Republican primaries, 50 Republican,