District honors high school seniors at banquet

The Beaufort County School District honored 43 high school seniors for outstanding academic achievement at the annual Senior Scholars Banquet last week.

Seniors who receive this recognition have maintained a 3.5 grade-point average, are in the top 10 percent of their classes and have earned at least an 85 average in each quarter of all of their high school courses.

“Our community is very proud of these outstanding young people,” said Board of Education Chairman Bill Evans. “They’ve shown extraordinary dedication throughout their high school careers, and they deserve to be in the spotlight.”

This year’s banquet guest speaker was Janay Glover, a 2006 graduate of Battery Creek High.  Glover received numerous awards as well as scholarships totaling $44,000 that included the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Rotary Club of Beaufort, South Carolina Life Scholarship and Teaching Fellows scholarships. She eventually chose to attend the University of South Carolina Upstate on a $24,000 South Carolina Teaching Fellows scholarship for students who agree to become teachers in South Carolina public schools for four years.  She graduated in 2010 with a 3.75 grade point average and a Bachelor’s Degree in Early Childhood Education.

Scholar banquet honorees are Karimen Ambrocio Alcantara (HHIHS), Mary Bolgan (HHIHS), Savannah Bowman (BHS), Kallie Brown (BCHS), Kelsey Butler (BHS), Michael Cook (BHS), Eileen Cooper (HHIHS), Rebekah Crandall (BHS), Rohan Desai (BHS), Kimberley Elliott (WBECHS), Andrew  Faciszewski (BLHS), Rebecca Fisher (BHS), Aubrianna Gonzales (HHIHS), Erich Greiner (BLHS) and Arlen Ho (BHS).

Also: Tyra Holcombe (BLHS), Siera Jann (BLHS), Darby Jardeleza (BLHS), Farris Langley (HHIHS), Adam Lipsitz (BHS), Robert Long (BLHS), Kebin Lopez Bautista (HHIHS), Elizabeth Mandell (BHS), Grayson Morgan (BCHS), Molly Murphy (BHS), Ryan Neal (BLHS), Reagan Palmer (BHS), Marianna Parlagreco (HHIHS) and Krista Pequegnat (HHIHS).

Also:  Kelsey Poole (BCHS), Erica Porter (BLHS), Joseph  Porter (BLHS), Sara Rauenhorst (BHS), Alexander Reamy (HHIHS), Jose Resendiz Meraz (BLHS), Cathryn Roberts (HHIHS), Emma Stanton (HHIHS), Arianna Tolerton (HHIHS), Kristin Trusz (HHIHS), Lauren Tyler (BLHS), Thomas Vater (HHIHS), Casey Witkowski (BLHS) and Lauren Zenter (BHS).

Previous Story

School News

Next Story

USCB conducts pinning ceremony for nursing graduates

Latest from Uncategorized


ARTS Halloween Pumpkin Painting Workshop 4 to 5 p.m., Friday, Oct. 28, The Social Betty, 204

Man found dead in Port Royal pond identified

From staff reports The body of a man was recovered from a pond in Port Royal