District announces 2012-13 Teachers of the Year

Beaufort County School District teachers were treated with balloons, flowers, and proclamations today as members of the Board of Education and District senior staff made surprise visits to each teacher’s classroom to announce the 2012-2013 Teachers of the Year.
Teachers of the Year are selected by their peers following criteria established by the schools, the district’s Teacher Forum and the SC Department of Education.  In the fall, teachers will compete for the District’s Teacher of the Year honor.
District Superintendent, Dr. Valerie Truesdale, said “This is a terrific opportunity to celebrate the unique gifts of our best of the best teacher leaders.  In these difficult economic times, we want to be sure our teachers know how much we appreciate their willingness to do more with less resources.”
For schools in northern Beaufort County, the 2012-13 Beaufort County Teachers of the Year are: Greg Brown,    Battery Creek High School; Kim Fields, Beaufort Elementary; Holly Lambert, Beaufort Middle; Teresa Baker, Beaufort High School; Mindy Farris, Broad River Elementary; Abigail Mitchell, Coosa Elementary School; Melissale Rivera, Joseph S. Shanklin; Kristen Brady, Lady’s Island Elementary; Lynn Jester, Lady’s Island Middle; Amy Edwards, Mossy Oaks; Amy Fallon, Port Royal Elementary; Carol Jackson, Robert Smalls Middle School; Samantha Ford, Shell Point Elementary School; Sheryl W. Mack, St. Helena Elementary; Whitney Harris, Whale Branch Elementary; Angela Stewart, Whale Branch Middle; and Robert Carlin, Whale Branch Early College High School.

Previous Story

TCL to present inaugural award at commencement

Next Story

Martha and Bernie Schein: Counselors of the heart

Latest from Uncategorized


ARTS Halloween Pumpkin Painting Workshop 4 to 5 p.m., Friday, Oct. 28, The Social Betty, 204

Man found dead in Port Royal pond identified

From staff reports The body of a man was recovered from a pond in Port Royal