Conservation District of the year

South Carolina Association of Conservation Districts,  SCACD, awarded Beaufort Soil & Water Conservation District the Conservation District of the Year Award.  The Beaufort Conservation District is one of 46 District in each county of SC that was eligible for the prestigious award.  They now have the SCACD Pump Award and Plaque displayed at their office at 817 Paris Avenue in Port Royal and they were also awarded $200. Judges Conservation Districtnoted that the Beaufort Conservation District was chosen because of its very diverse array of activities with many community partners and working closely with USDA-Natural Resources Conservation Service, SC Department of Natural Resources, and Together for Beaufort Water Quality Committee.

Pictured are Commissioners Claude McLeod, Denise Parsick, and Luke Inabinett; NRCS District Conservationist Diane Leone; Beaufort County Council Chairman Paul Sommerville, Education Coordinator Pam Floyd, District Manager Shelby Berry and SCACD President Sterling Sadler. Commissioner McLeod was awarded a pin for 25 years of service and Ms. Berry was selected as District Employee of the year, receiving a $100 check and a desk plaque. From left: L. Inabinett, C. McLeod, S. Saddler, P Floyd, S. Berry, P. Sommerville, D. Leone, and D. Parsick.

Previous Story

Serving up fresh seafood the way locals like it at The Original Steamer

Next Story

The Life and Times of Robert Smalls traveling exhibit coming home to Beaufort

Latest from Uncategorized


ARTS Halloween Pumpkin Painting Workshop 4 to 5 p.m., Friday, Oct. 28, The Social Betty, 204

Man found dead in Port Royal pond identified

From staff reports The body of a man was recovered from a pond in Port Royal