School briefs for July 13th-19th

in Uncategorized by

Student data, instruction focus of ‘Our Schools’ 

The Beaufort County School District’s Instructional Services division and the many ways that educators use student achievement data highlight the most recent “Our Schools” television program, which is airing on the County Channel. 

In addition to Superintendent Jeff Moss, the show also includes Dereck Rhoads, chief instructional services officer; N’Kia Campbell, director of academic initiatives; Karen Gilbert, career and technology education coordinator; Daniel Fallon, director of accountability; Celestine LaVan, principal of Shanklin Elementary School; and Ashley Weber, a first-grade teacher at Shanklin Elementary.

“Our Schools” will air four times weekly: at 11:30 a.m. Mondays, 9 p.m. Tuesdays, 8:30 p.m. Thursdays and 12:30 p.m. Saturdays.  The broadcast will air on local cable networks: Comcast’s Channel 2, Hargray’s channels 9 and 113, and Spectrum Channel 63. The show also will air at those times on the County Channel’s website at

Local students graduate from Park University

Park University’s Beaufort Marine Corps Air Station Campus Center held its commencement ceremony on June 2 at the Marine Corps Recruit Depot Parris Island Theater. 

Local graduates include Pablo E. Barrios, Brian Blecha, Keisha Danielle Bristow, Anthony J. Dobrinsky, Dwayne W. Farr, Debbra Ann Green Jones, Jack James Hunt, Lashae R. Lovett-Veal, Quang Lap Ly, Michelle L. Mayer, Chelsea N. Morales, Jonathan M. Peluso, Jordan D. Orellana Buitron, Kristine R. Raphael and Gabriel C. Thrower, all of Beaufort; Lisa L. Glover and Robin Green, both of St. Helena Island; and Irene E. Kellar of Port Royal.