SAR holds annual dinner

2 mins read

The Gov. Paul Hamilton Chapter of the South Carolina Society Sons of the American Revolution held its Annual Dinner Meeting on Thursday, December 15 at the Dataw Island Club.

SAR 2012 officers.

Featured speaker for the evening was Mark Anthony, President of the South Carolina Society of the Sons of the American Revolution who shared with the members news that South Carolina will host the 124th Annual Congress of the SAR in Greenville in July 2014.  Extensive preparations are already underway to welcome more than 500 members of the SAR from across the United States for the annual weeklong event.
Outgoing President H. Wayne Cousar reported that the Chapter had gained 11 new members in the Society this year, bringing the number for the Gov. Hamilton Chapter here in Beaufort to 54 compatriots. During the meeting President Cousar swore in two new members, compatriots Bob Sadler and Paul Steele. Andy Beall, SC State Chairman of the Eagle Scout Scholarship program reported on the growing interest in the scholarships offered to Eagle Scouts by the Society.
SC President Anthony swore in Joseph B. “Jody” Henson, Jr. as President of the Gov. Hamilton Chapter for 2012, as well as the following officers of the chapter:  Michael H. Keyserling, Vice President; J. Thomas Mikell, Secretary/Treasurer; Carroll L. Crowther, Registrar; C. Dean Cullison, Genealogist; Walter F. Lubkin, Chaplain; Franklin L. Wood, Color Sgt.; Claude N. Dinkins, JROTC Chairman; Andrew J. Beall, Eagle Scout Scholarship; and Peter A. Dickerson, Historian,-Public Relations.

Latest from Blog


Woman’s love of Beaufort redeemed I love Beaufort, because of the people. My daughter and I…