Peggy May receives 2015 Inspiration Award

Peggy May, a retired educator, former chair of the Foundation for Educational Excellence, and former county and state Director of Adult Literacy is the recipient of the 2015 Inspiration Award. The award recognizes individuals who have been supportive of, or attended, Beaufort County public schools, and whose accomplishments have distinguished them in their professions and will positively influence and inspire others, particularly students.

After joining the Foundation’s board of directors in 2010, Peggy served as its chair from 2012-2014. In that role, she helped to award more than $50,000 to teachers who sought to bring innovative teaching techniques and tools into their classrooms. These grants have impacted thousands of students county-wide.

May taught for more than 28 years in New York before moving to Hilton Head in 1984. She served as Director of Adult Literacy for Beaufort County, which later became Literacy Volunteers of the Lowcountry. She went on to become the South Carolina’s State Director of Adult Literacy from 1992 until 1996, when she retired. She then worked for several years with national literacy organizations as an event planner. She also was a dedicated volunteer for The Deep Well Project and was secretary of the Italian American Club of Hilton Head.

May passed away July 24, 2014. The Foundation for Education Excellence’s current chair, Jackie Rosswurm, will accept the Inspiration Award on her behalf at the organization’s March 7 Jewels and Jeans fundraiser at the Country Club of Hilton Head. Information and tickets for Jewels and Jeans or details about the Foundation for Educational Excellence, visit www.FoundationEdExcellence.com

“Peggy’s legacy and devotion to improve educational opportunities lives on,” Rosswurm said. “We’ve chosen to honor her with the 2015 Inspiration Award because her accomplishments were extraordinary and because she positively inspired and influenced the lives of countless individuals and friends in Beaufort County.”

Previous recipients of the award have included Artist Jonathan Green, Chef David Vincent Young, Chef Orchid Paulmeier, Board of Education member Dr. Wayne A. Carbiener, and American Idol winner Candice Glover.

Previous Story

St. Peter’s student initiates supply drive

Next Story

School Notes for the week of Jan. 29th-Feb. 4th

Latest from Uncategorized