Military news briefs July 20th-26th

Pictured are Pfc. Ambar N. Zaiek Parades, Dominican Republic; Pfc. Dulce F. Manriquez, Mexico; Pvt. Annalice M. Daley, Jamaica; Pvt. Julian R. Torres, Peru; Pfc. Serdjhy Leger, Haiti; Pfc. Dang H. Doung, Vietnam; Pfc. Daniel A. Guzman, Dominican Republic; Pvt. Kervin Stcyr, Haiti; Pvt. Jhonatan A. Velarde, Ecuador; Pvt. Jean Malhado, Brazil; Pvt. Yongchang Gao, China; Pvt. Khalid M. Ngwegwe, Tanzania; Pvt. Daniel Ramirez Rodriguez, Mexico; Pvt. Juan C. Rosales Guerin, Mexico; Pvt. Carlos L. Espana Palencia, Guatemala; Pvt. Waylon F. LaFrance, Canada; Pfc. Rodrigo M. Malpartida, Peru; Pvt. Zetian Ni, China; and Pfc. Ariel Castillo, Cuba. Photo by Lance Cpl. Maximiliano Bavastro.

New recruits earn U.S. citizenship

Earning the title Marine can also help non-U.S. citizens earn the rights and privileges of citizenship. Recently, 19 new Marines, at left, took the Oath of Allegiance and became naturalized U.S. citizens. 

“United States citizenship is the greatest honor we grant (at the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services),” said Brenda Washington, of United States Citizenship and Immigration Services. “For these Marines, today’s naturalization ceremony represents their final step in their journey to American citizenship.”

Parris Island Museum open to public

The public is invited to explore the Parris Island Museum, which showcases the legacy of the United States Marine Corps and the history of Port Royal.

The Parris Island Museum features thousands of artifacts, images and other materials that illustrate the history of Port Royal and Parris Island, from early Native American inhabitants of Port Royal to the modern Marines.

The 10,000-square-foot museum is located on Marine Corps Recruit Depot Parris Island. 

The exhibits focus primarily on the traditions of the Marine Corps. 

Alongside Marine Corps history, there are exhibits devoted to the Charlesfort-Santa Elena National Historic Landmark, site of French and Spanish colonies on Parris Island between 1562 and 1587.

The museum is open daily to the public from 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Family and Graduation Days. Holiday closures include New Year’s, Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas. Admission is free.

For more information on the Parris Island Museum, visit parrisislandmuseum.com or call 843-228-2951.

Previous Story

BAA installs new officers

Next Story

How to be a great mother-in-law

Latest from News

Lowcountry Lowdown

By Lolita HuckabyThe Island News Nothing to do in Beaufort? We beg to differ BEAUFORT –