Mask requirement for unincorporated Beaufort County set to end

1 min read

From staff reports

Beginning Friday, April 16, face coverings will no longer be required in public buildings in unincorporated Beaufort County.

At Monday night’s Beaufort County Council meeting, a vote on agenda item “An Emergency Ordinance Requiring The Wearing of Face Coverings Under Certain Circumstances” failed to receive the necessary eight (required two-thirds of Council as an Emergency Ordinance) votes in order to extend the provision requiring the wearing of masks in public buildings for unincorporated Beaufort County.

This means the first business day after the current emergency ordinance expires on Thursday, April 15, face coverings will no longer be required in unincorporated Beaufort County.

The municipalities of Beaufort, Port Royal, Bluffton, Hilton Head Island and Yemassee each have face covering ordinances in place, as of press time.

Latest from Blog


Woman’s love of Beaufort redeemed I love Beaufort, because of the people. My daughter and I…