Many thanks for success of Short Story America Festival

The Saturday, Sept. 22, finale included the awarding of the first Short Story America Prize for Short Fiction. The winner of the Short Story America Prize was author Mathieu Callier of Los Angeles, California, for his story “Over the Bridge.”
Callier traveled to Beaufort as a finalist, as did fellow finalists Marjorie Brody of San Antonio, Texas; Eric Witchey of Portland, Oregon;  Doug McKittrick of Atlanta, Ga.; and Joel Shulkin of Simpsonville, S.C. Other finalists included Patricia Smith of Seattle; Martin McCaw of Walla Walla, Washington; Alan Wood of Seattle, and Holly Bern of Milwaukee. Callier called Beaufort “one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever visited,” and said he plans to return for the event every year.
“All of the other authors feel the same way about this great event and this friendly community. We’re coming back, and telling other authors to do the same. They’ll be glad they did,” Callier said.
The finalists and titles of their stories:
• Winner: Mathieu Callier, “Over the Bridge”  $1,000 prize
• Second Place: Martin McCaw,  “Sara’s Wreath”  $500 prize
• Third Place (tie): Eric Witchey, “El Bosque Circular”; Patricia Smith, “Snowball”  $250 prize
• Finalist: Doug McKittrick, “The Trumpet Player”
• Finalist: Marjorie Brody, “In the Doghouse”
• Finalist: Eric Witchey, “The Cell Door Opened”
• Finalist: Holly Bern, “Pictures of Heaven”
• Finalist: Joel Shulkin, “One Last Goodbye”
• Finalist: Alan Wood, “Friend of the Body.”
Short Story America’s Tim Johnston and website coordinator Steve Thompson extend special thanks to the following: The Beaufort Inn, Lowcountry Weekly, USCB, Panini’s, the Beaufort International Film Festival, the Quality Inn, Emily’s, Murr Printing, Magnolia Cafe, Shoofly Kitchen, Plums, Buffalo Wild Wings, Buf’s, 303 Associates, Booking Authors Ink, 94.5 the Coast, Stacey Johnston, Nash Steele, Mark Krueger, Daisy White, Charles White, Margit Resch, Sallie Stone, Rick Kurz, Jamie Figenbaum, Susan Julavits, Ron Tucker, Rebecca Berry, Jeff Evans, Margaret Evans, Tim Devine, Bonnie Hargrove, Burton Sauls, Gwen Myers, Ann-Marie Adams, Karen Peluso, Billy Keyserling, Rebecca Bass, Cathy Persson, Carl Eby, Dick Stewart, the Photography Club of Beaufort, The Island News, Beaufort Gazette, Griffin Market, Dana Johnsrude, all of the presenting authors, and the Lowcountry residents who came out to celebrate literature and welcome authors to Beaufort.
“There will definitely be a second annual here in Beaufort,” said Johnston. “Calendar dates will be announced soon. Cheers and thanks to everyone who attended in this first year!”

Previous Story

Three Cheers!

Next Story

Rotary Club awards outstanding new teachers

Latest from Uncategorized


ARTS Halloween Pumpkin Painting Workshop 4 to 5 p.m., Friday, Oct. 28, The Social Betty, 204

Man found dead in Port Royal pond identified

From staff reports The body of a man was recovered from a pond in Port Royal