3 mins read

USCB names academic award recipients for 2020

The following regional USC Beaufort graduates were honored with academic deparmental awards for 2020:

Theodora Light of Beaufort received the USC Beaufort Governor Paul Hamilton Sons of the American Revolution Outstanding Student in History and Outstanding Spanish Student of the Year awards.

Shane Suda of Beaufort received the USCB Outstanding Hospitality Management Student of the Year Award.

Joshua Bing of Beaufort received the USCB Gordon Haist Interdisciplinary Studies Outstanding Student of the Year Award.

“When our academic award recipients look back on their time at USCB, I hope they reflect proudly on thier consistent effort, knowing that what they have been awarded is a direct reflection of their outstanding performance as both a student and peer in the Sand Shark community,” USCB Chancellor Al M. Panu said in a release. “They have each shown their true character, and we salute them for it.”

USC Beaufort is the fastest growing four-year institution within the University of South Carolina System. It offers 20 baccalaureate degrees on three campuses – Bluffton, Beaufort and Hilton Head Island.

Riverview Charter School enrollment drawing Thursday

The 2020-2021 enrollment lottery drawing for Riverview Charter School will take place via Zoom at 1 p.m. on Thursday, June 4. In the interest of public safety, applicants will not be permitted to attend this year’s lottery in person, but may login to watch the meeting using the Zoom Meeting ID and Password included here (Zoom Meeting ID – 978 380 7150 and Password – 062694).

An email with links to the lottery outcomes will be sent to all applicant families within 48 hours of the lottery’s conclusion. Families will need their lottery number(s) to check the lottery outcomes as only numbers will be posted (no names).

Rotary Club of the Lowcountry announces scholarship winners

The Rotary Club of the Lowcountry announced the recipients of this year’s scholarships during their Friday morning virtual meeting.

Both scholarship winners and Interact Advisor Deborah Kidd joined the meeting. The winners were presented with their certificates virtually, as well.

The 2020 winners are Beaufort High School’s Claire Bowden, who will attend Wake Forest, and Beaufort High School’s Kelsey Duncan, who will attend Clemson.

Bowden and Duncan were active in Beaufort High School’s Interact Club, holding officer positions and participating in the club’s fundraising events and Adopt-A-Highway clean-up efforts. Their commitment to the Beaufort community demonstrates the Rotary principles of service above self and building goodwill and better friendships.

Latest from Blog


Willie Terrell was the keynote speaker Sunday during the “Celebrating Life and Legacy of Rev. Dr.…


 COVID in the classroom; Can’t we all just get our shots?   BEAUFORT – One year ago, Beaufort…