Bostwick, Stone lead BYAC Tiger Sharks

in Uncategorized by

From staff reports

Lily Bostwick and James Stone won all 11 races they entered and the BYAC Tiger Sharks placed fifth among 11 teams Feb. 26-28 at the 2021 Carolina YMCA Swim League Short Course Winter Swimming Championship at the Lakelands YMCA in Greenwood.

Bostwick dominated, earning wins in 15-18 Girls 100-yard Freestyle, 200-yard Breaststroke, 200-yard Freestyle, 50-yard Freestyle, 100-yard Breaststroke and 500-yard Freestyle.

Stone won the 15-18 Boys 200-yard Butterfly, 50-yard Freestyle, 200-yard Freestyle, 100-yard Butterfly and 100-yard Freestyle.

In all, 25 BYAC Tiger Sharks swimmers qualified and competed in individual swimming events at the meet. Eight BYAC swimmers qualified for the 2021 S.C. Upper Southeast Regional YMCA Short Course Championship Meet held last weekend.

All results can be found on the YMCA website:

Other BYAC swimmers

Jacob Mansker: 1st 9-10 Boys 100-yard; 1st 50-yard Backstroke; 4th 50-yard Freestyle; 4th 100-yard IM.

Valerie Baxley: 2nd 6 & Under Girls 50-yard Freestyle; 4th 25-yard Backstroke.

Sarah Mansker: 2nd 7-8 Girls 25-yard Backstroke; 4th in 25-yard Breaststroke.

Luke Johansen: 2nd Boys age 7-8 25-yard Backstroke; 3rd 25-yard Breaststroke; 3rd 100-yard Freestyle.

Caleb Johansen: 3rd 9-10 Boys 200-yard Freestyle; 3rd 200-yard IM; 3rd 50-yard Breaststroke.

Susan Cushman: 2nd 13-14 Girls 100-yard Freestyle; 2nd 200-Yard freestyle.

Alexis Berryhill: 2nd 11-12 Girls 100-yard Backstroke; 4th 50-yard Breaststroke; 4th 50-yard Backstroke.

Kaylee Bartholomew: 2nd Girls 13-14 200-yard Breaststroke; 2nd 100-yard Breaststroke.

Emma Grace Dinkins: 2nd Girls 15-18 200-yard Freestyle.

Taggart Paul Cushman: 2nd 11-12 Boys 200-yard Freestyle.

Stephen Dunning: 3rd Boys 15-18 100-yard Backstroke.

Medleys: The Tiger Sharks also had four gold medal relay teams. The 10 & Under Boys took first in 200 Medley and 200 Freestyle Relay, while the Girls 12 & Under team took first in both the 200 Medley and 200 Freestyle Relays.


Above: (l to r): Lily Bostwick, Madelyn Colton, Emma Grace Dinkins, Kaylee Bartholomew