Beaufort History Museum opens Fort Fremont exhibit

in News by

From staff reports

A new exhibit invites visitors to Beaufort History Museum to explore the history of Fort Fremont, a fortification built by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers on Saint Helena Island in 1898.

Visitors can view a special exhibit that displays award-winning images and a modern instructional video featuring exclusive drone photography of the site.

The Exhibit was officially introduced to Beaufort History Museum Board Members and Friends of Fort Freemont at an open house on July 15. The images featured in the exhibit are loaned to the Museum by noted Savannah photographer Mike Tillison. BHM Board Member Jeff Kidd created the video, a preview of which may be accessed at

Fort Fremont was constructed in response to the Spanish American War to defend the coaling station and dry dock at the Port Royal Naval Station located on Parris Island. It was one of six fortifications designated to protect the southeast coast during the war.

The name of the fort honors Major General John C. Fremont who was a Republican Presidential Candidate and Union Civil War General. The Fort was officially deactivated in 1912.

Those touring the Exhibits are asked to observe the commonly accepted CDC protocols for social distancing while at the Museum. The use of facemasks is required.

Beaufort History Museum has evolved to focus specifically on the history of the Beaufort District. It strives to manage and display artifacts and documents held by the City of Beaufort, telling the compelling stories of this area from the early 16th century until modern times. Docent classes are conducted on an ongoing basis.


What: Fort Fremont exhibit

When: 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday.

Where: Beaufort History Museum, 713 Craven Street.

For more information: Docents are on duty to provide information and conduct tours. Visit or the BHM Facebook page for updates and news.

Want to volunteer? For information on becoming a Docent or Volunteer Greeter, visit or call 843-379-3079.


Jannie Allen, right, and Beaufort History Museum Board Vice President Kathryn Mixon tour the special Fort Fremont Exhibit.