Rotary Club of Beaufort appoints new officers

in News by

From staff reports

Confronted by the challenges of COVID-19, the Rotary Club of Beaufort, Beaufort’s oldest Rotary, conducted a hybrid induction ceremony to install new officers on Wednesday, July 8.

It was a hybrid because it combined both in-person and virtual components.

Rotary by-laws stipulate that the new Club President be sworn in by the Rotary District Governor or Assistant Governor. Incoming President Robert G. Bussa attended the ceremony in person, but he was sworn in by Assistant Governor Whitney L. McDaniel via Zoom.

The other 2020–21 Rotary officers sworn in were: Jeff M. Johnson (Immediate Past President), Amanda W. Burgin (President Elect), Wayne C. Promislow (Treasurer), and Whitney L. McDaniel (Secretary).

The other officials taking office on July 8 were the Club directors. They are Charles H. Dykeman, Vocational Services; Nancy A. Dykeman, International Services; Rosemary H. Hunt, Youth Services; Ethan M. James, Rotary Foundation; Jay C. Patel, At-Large; Cris Steele, Club Services; James D. Weiskopf, Public Image; and Howard E. Heckrotte, Sergeant-At-Arms.

The Rotary Club of Beaufort was established in 1936.

Incoming Rotary President Robert Bussa (left) accepts the gavel from outgoing President Jeff Johnson on July 8.