3 Beaufort County students nominated for U.S. Presidential Scholar recognition

3 mins read

By Wells Fargo Advisors 

The Beaufort County School District has selected three high school seniors to compete for prestigious U.S. Presidential Scholar Awards. 

Anna Brown of Beaufort High, Raul Leyva of Hilton Head Island High, and Maximus Weitekamper of May River High have been selected to represent the district as candidates for nominations. 

The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established by President Lyndon Johnson in 1964. Since that time, the program has honored more than 7,000 high school seniors based on outstanding scholarship. Since 2013, state education superintendents have been invited to nominate candidates from their states for the Academic/General Component category, and beginning in 2016, outstanding students who demonstrated excellence in Career and Technical Education (CTE) were included for recognition. 

Brown and Leyva were selected among applicants based on criteria to include: Involvement and Service (in school and community); Leadership and Character; High Academic Achievements; and consideration for extraordinary achievement for possible challenges or hurdles overcome while still achieving high success. 

Brown is an outstanding scholar student and recognized for her high academic performance as well as a commitment to volunteer work within the community. This includes development and facilitation of monthly activities for the Children’s Abuse Prevention Association and taking an active interest in clean water initiatives. 

Leyva achieves high academic excellence through the International Baccalaureate program while involved with many outstanding extra-curricular activities to include a leadership role with the Latinx Affinity Space Club which provides academic resources for first generation, low income minorities. 

Weitekamper was selected based on criteria to include high achievement in his academic courses and career and technical programs; mastery of technical skills demanded by industry; and demonstration of employability skills to include professional skills for teamwork, decision-making, and problem-solving developed within a career pathway. 

Weitekamper is dedicated to his academics and excellence in pursuit of technical skills. He will be a dual completer in both Welding and Engineering pathways with a great interest in design and helping others. 

The Beaufort County School District has submitted these three students’ applications to a South Carolina Department of Education committee that will select semifinalists to represent South Carolina. Nominees chosen to represent the state will receive an expense-paid trip to Washington in June and will be presented with the U.S. Presidential Scholars medallion at a ceremony sponsored by the White House. 

Latest from Blog


Woman’s love of Beaufort redeemed I love Beaufort, because of the people. My daughter and I…