S.C. High School League denies Dolphins’ appeal

in Sports by

Creek will remain in Region 8-3A

The S.C. High School League denied Battery Creek’s appeal — and the seven others from schools throughout the state — on Tuesday and Wednesday in Columbia, essentially solidifying the SCHSL’s realignment plan for the next two school years. 

As a result of the denial, Battery Creek will remain in Region 8-3A. With May River moving up to Class 4A and Ridgeland-Hardeeville dropping to Class 2A, the Dolphins are left as a geographic outlier in the region, which will include Academic Magnet, Bishop England, Hanahan, North Charleston, and Oceanside Collegiate. Battery Creek is at least 70 miles from each of its new region opponents.

Battery Creek is the 119th-largest school according to the SCHSL’s updated enrollment figures, which puts it near the bottom of the proposed Class 3A cohort. Crescent (No. 124) is the largest school currently slated for Class 2A.

Beaufort High, Bluffton, Hilton Head High, and May River are all slated for Region 7-4A along with Colleton County, James Island, and the new Lucy Beckham High School in Mount Pleasant.

Ridgeland-Hardeeville will drop to Class 2A and compete in Region 6-2A along with Burke, Lake Marion, Philip Simmons, Timberland, and Woodland.

Whale Branch drops to Class 1A and competes in Region 7-1A along with Baptist Hill, Charleston Math & Science, Cross, Lowcountry Leadership Charter, Military Magnet, Palmetto Scholars, and St. John’s.

The area’s three charter schools — Bridges Prep, Polaris Tech, and Royal Live Oaks — would compete in Region 6-1A along with Allendale-Fairfax, Bamberg-Ehrhardt, Bethune-Bowman, Branchville, and Estill.