Rotary Club of Beaufort honors local law enforcement officers

in Business/Community/News by

From staff reports

On Wednesday, Aug. 11, the Rotary Club of Beaufort, Beaufort’s oldest Rotary club, honored four local law enforcement officers with the Rotary’s Jesse Altman Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award and recognized Marine Sgt. Gabriel B. George of the MCAS Beaufort Provost Marshal’s Office, as the overall Law Enforcement Officer of the Year.

Sgt. George was recognized by his chain of command for his service since January 2019. His superiors spoke of his dependability, positive and unflappable attitude, police proficiency and courage.

During the year covered by the award, Sgt. George was the first law enforcement officer on the scene for a gunshot victim, a child requiring CPR, and a drive-by shooting, among other events. He acted alone, without back-up, and made key decisions that demonstrated his maturity and judgment, his professionalism and bravery. In all, he responded to 80 separate controlled cases, and quickly became the “go to” person for law enforcement officers both junior and senior to him.

The 2021 nominees were Trooper Jeb Fay of the S.C. Department of Public Safety; Lance Cpl. Christian “Dalton” Anderson of the Beaufort County Sheriff’s Department; Investigator Stephanie Karafa of the City of Beaufort Police Department; and Sgt. George of the combined US Marine Corps Recruit Depot and Air Station Provost Marshal’s Office.

The Port Royal Police Department and the S.C. Department of Natural Resources did not submit nominations.

The annual award is named in honor of retired Marine Corps Lt. Colonel Jesse Altman, a former City of Beaufort Police Chief and Beaufort Rotarian. Each of the recipients received an engraved plaque and monetary award.

Above: Sgt. Gabriel George of the MCAS Beaufort Provost Marshal’s Office holds his award after being named the Beaufort Rotary Club’s Law Enforcement Officer of the Year on Wednesday, Aug. 11. At left is Beaufort Rotarian Mike Nevil, who presented George with the annual award. Photo by Bob Sofaly.