Recognizing Peace Officers Memorial Day

According to preliminary figures released by the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund, 127 law enforcement officers lost their lives in the line of duty in 2012.

To honor officers who have given their lives in the line of duty, in 1962, President Kennedy designated May as Peace Officers’ Memorial Day, and the calendar week in which it falls as National Police Week. Later, President Clinton signed legislation that directed all United States flags on government buildings be flown at each year for Peace Officers’ Memorial Day.

On behalf the surviving family members of fallen officers in Beaufort County, Sheriff PJ Tanner has requested that Beaufort County Council designate May 15 that all flags on county facilities are flown at half-staff on that day.

In a ceremony held last Wednesday morning at the Beaufort County Law Enforcement Center, County Council Chairman Paul Sommerville issued a proclamation hereby declaring this May 15 Memorial Day in Beaufort County. Proclamations were received by:

• Sheriff PJ Tanner, Beaufort County Sheriff’s Office

• Chief Matthew J. Clancy, Beaufort Police Department

• Chief T. Alan Beach, Port Royal Police Department

• Chief Jack Hagy, Yemassee Police Department

Previous Story

Celebrate the annual Gullah Festival

Next Story

News Briefs

Latest from Community