Lowcountry Lifetime Achievement Awards presented at Tabby Place

From staff reports

The Foundation for Leadership Education (FLE) held its annual Lowcountry Lifetime Achievement Awards at Tabby Place on Saturday, Jan. 15.

The FLE was founded by local leaders of Beaufort County who represented business, community development, education, management, and the military. Armed with a vision to help “Prepare Tomorrow’s Leaders,” the group committed itself to supporting programs with an unwavering commitment to developing well-rounded, open-minded critical thinkers preparing to be the problem-solvers of the future.

Holland Perryman was presented with the Lighthouse Scholarship by Scott Huebel of the FLE.

In addition, the founders were dedicated to honoring the history of leadership in the Lowcountry by recognizing individuals and organizations that have contributed to the general welfare and development of the community.

At Saturday’s black-tie event, Leadership Education Grants were awarded to programs at Battery Creek High School, May River High School, and Okatie Elementary School.

The prestigious Lighthouse Scholarship – for outstanding high school seniors – was awarded to Casey McCauley (Hilton Head Christian Academy) for 2021, and Holland Perryman (Beaufort High School) for 2022. 

The Servant Leader Award was presented to Richard and Jenny Drake, for their tireless devotion to others and to the Beaufort Community.

This year’s Lifetime Achievement Awards were then presented to:

Ervena Faulkner: A lifelong educator, community leader, former director of Project Care, and member of Penn Center’s prestigious 1862 Circle, Faulkner may be best known for her 20 years as a food columnist for The Beaufort Gazette and Island Packet.

Connie Hipp: Director of the Leadership Beaufort Program for more than 30 years, Hipp’s awards include the Beaufort BPW Woman of the Year Award, the Beaufort Regional Chamber of Commerce Lifetime of Leadership Civitas Award, and the United Way Woman of the Year Award.

Ervena Faulkner received the 2022 Lowcountry Lifetime Achievement Award at Tabby Place on Jan. 15.

William D. (Dean) Moss, Jr.: Moss joined the Beaufort-Jasper Water and Sewer Authority in 1986 and retired as its Executive Director in 2015. He has served on numerous boards to protect our Lowcountry environment, and is a founding board member of the Port Royal Sound Foundation.

Fred S. Washington, Jr.: Director of the Beaufort County Department of Social Services for more than 27 years, Washington has served on City Council, the Beaufort County School Board, and many other boards and organizations. His awards include Citizen of the Year, Man of the Year, Keeper of the Flame Award for Education, Award of the Excellent, and the Distinguished Service Award. 

To learn more about the Foundation for Leadership Education, visit www.lowcountryleaders.com.

Previous Story

Former Bridges building to become cybersecurity education center

Next Story


Latest from News

Lowcountry Lowdown

Third-bridge crossing an idea that just won’t die By Lolita Huckaby BEAUFORT Beaufort County Councilwoman Alice

Welcome Home!

Beaufort City Councilman Mitch Mitchell presents Bernice Wilson, of Port Royal, with a commemorative lapel pin