Local voter turnout higher than national numbers

in Election 2016/News by

The Island News goes to press early Tuesday nights, therefore, we did not have election results available.

However, here are the results:

• Voter turnout in Beaufort County was about 61 percent, which was higher than the national turnout of about 52 percent. The national voter turnout was the lowest in over 20 years.

• In Beaufort County, Hillary Clinton won 40.93 percent in the presidential race, with Donald Trump taking in 54.66 percent of the vote.

• The sales tax referendums – one for countywide capital improvements such as road repairs and the other for the school district – both failed.

• Incumber Republican Tim Scott won the U.S. Senate vote handily, with 63 percent, compared to Thomas Dixon with about 33 percent.

• In U.S. House of Representative District 1, Republican Mark Sanford held onto his seat with about 61 percent of the vote, while Dimitri Cherney took about 24 percent.

• In SC House elections, the incumbent held on in District 118, with Republican Bill Herbkersman getting about 89 percent. His challenger, Alfred North, won about 11 percent of the vote. Michael Rivers took about 67 percent of the vote for District 121.

• Republican Shannon Erickson handily won SC House District 124 with 66 percent of the vote, beating out challenger Bobby Green with about 34 percent.

• In Beaufort County School District board races, Patricia Felton-Montgomery won the District 6 seat; Christina Gwozdz won the District 9 seat.

• In the Fripp Island Public Service District, the four members who won were Richard Combes, John Derrick, Rick Keup and Steve McKay.

• In the Beaufort City Council race, the winners of the two seats were Mike McFee and Nan Brown Sutton. Sutton will succeed retiring council member George O’Kelley, and McFee returns for his third term on City Council.

In other news, the Board of Voter Registration and Elections of Beaufort County is seeking to fill two vacancies on the board.

These members will be responsible for selecting poll workers for precincts in the St. Helena/Lady’s Island and Sun City areas, in addition to serving the county’s voting population.

Applicants must be a registered voter in Beaufort County with the ability to become certified by the SC State Election Commission within 18 months of appointment by the governor. Previous poll worker experience is preferred.

Interested applicants may contact the Beaufort County Legislative Delegation at 843-255-2260 or send an email to cmaxey@bcgov.net.