Local students earn recognition at Youth in Government conference

2 mins read

Numerous students from Beaufort County high schools earned recognition at last weekend’s state 2019 Model Legislature and Court conference in Columbia.

More than 1,500 high school students attended the three-day event at the Columbia Convention Center, participating in simulations of South Carolina’s democratic process. Acting as state legislators, the students wrote, debated and voted on legislation.

Students also acted as candidates, lobbyists, news media, lawyers and judges. Officers elected by students serve as Governor, Lt. Governor, Speaker of the House, Attorney General, Secretary of State, Secretary of Education and Comptroller General.

Beaufort High and Bluffton High students were honored as “premier delegations” at the annual conference. In addition, Beaufort, Bluffton and May River high school students earned a variety of individual honors.

A fourth district high school, Battery Creek, sent a student delegation to the 2019 state conference in preparation for full Youth in Government participation next year.

“Our students always set a very high bar at the annual state Youth in Government Conference,”  Superintendent Frank Rodriguez said. “We’re very proud of them.”

Numerous Beaufort High School students earned individual and team recognition at this year’s conference, including:


Anastacia Thacker – Phillip Bradley Award, a $750 scholarship to recognize outstanding leadership qualities

Additional recognition

Carlisle Salapare – Outstanding Witness Award.

Lindsey Breaux, Shiloh Court, Gabriel Jenkins, Alana Jenkins, Jose Restrepo, Griffin Siegel, Ana Thacker and Carlisle Salapare – Trial Team 2 among the top 20 percent in the state.

Latest from Blog


Woman’s love of Beaufort redeemed I love Beaufort, because of the people. My daughter and I…