League of Women Voters offering scholarship 

The Beaufort Chapter of the League of Women Voters (LWVB) is offering a scholarship opportunity for all high school and college students north of the Broad River. 

The League challenges students to create an educational tool designed to inform Beaufort County voters about a topic pertaining to our local government. Any subject will be considered that educates the public about locally elected roles and/or responsibilities, government processes, key issues and opportunities facing our community leaders, any recent decisions/legislation impacting Beaufort citizens or the election process, in general. We encourage creativity in format, and will accept submissions in written, video or any 2D/3D design. 

The League will accept entries for consideration until midnight April 15. The winner of the award, in the amount of $1,000, will be announced on May 15. Additional honorable mention award(s) of $100 each may be granted at the discretion of the judges. 

For more information, visit lwvbeaufort.org. LWVB is a non-profit/non-partisan organization encouraging informed and active participation in the voting process. 

Nason named to Vanderbilt Dean’s List 

Emilie Claire Nason of Beaufort, a 2021 Beaufort Academy graduate, was named to the Vanderbilt University College of Arts and Science Dean’s List for Fall 2021. Vanderbilt University is tied with Brown University as the 14th-ranked university in the nation, as ranked by U.S. News and World Report, 2022. 

Lander announces President’s, Dean’s lists for Fall 2021 

Lander University (Greenwood, S.C.) is excited to release the names of those students who have made the President’s List, Dean’s List and Freshman Honor Roll for Fall 2021. 

To qualify for the President’s List, a student must earn a GPA of 4.0 over the course of the semester. Beaufort’s Andrew Luckey was named to the President’s List. 

To qualify for the Dean’s List, a student must earn a grade-point average (GPA) between 3.5 and 3.9. Area students on the Dean’s List include Kadeeyshja Butler (Beaufort), Ja’Sean Lawson (Beaufort), Ashley Sanders (Beaufort), Molly Smith (Beaufort), McCayla Willingham (Beaufort) and Jada Hamilton (Yemassee). 

Previous Story

Eagles send 9 wrestlers to Lower State

Next Story

Holy Trinity offering a 4-part lecture series on philosophy

Latest from Education


SC Governor’s School again receives Seal of Transparency The SouthCarolina Governor’s School for the Arts and