in Education by

Beaufort area students honored by USC Beaufort

Beaufort’s Zyamanii Baksh (29902) and Colby Escoe (29906) have been named to the University of South Carolina Beaufort’s Fall 2020 President’s List.

To be eligible for the President’s List, students must obtain a term grade point average of 4.00 earned on a minimum of 12 credited semester hours. To be eligible for the Chancellor’s List, students must obtain a term grade point average of 3.50 or higher earned on a minimum of 12 credited semester hours.

Beaufort area students who made the Chancellor’s List are: Brianna Abney (29906); Lauren Ainsworth (29906); Christiana Badger (29906); Lillian Barradas (29902); Kyle Bilak (29906); Bruce Brasseur (29906); Kelly Buss (29902); Taylor Corlet (29906); Phylicia Doe (29906); Cassie Flanagan (29906); Murray Flowers (29902); Madison Fripp (29902); Tonna Gallagher (29906); Victoria Ganshow (29906); Aydanni Gonzalez (29902); Molly Hoffman (29902); Gabrielle Idsall (29907); Joseph Keith (29902); Zachary Langford (29902); Christian Lorenzo (29902); Rachelle Martz (29907); Veronica McLeod (29902); Hannah Merchant (29902); Anna Miller (29907); Madison Mindermann (29902); Bradley Moody (29906); Meagan Nation (29906); Warren Newberry (29907); Kyleigh Peeples (29902); Jamie Smith (29906); Allison Stacks (29906); Andrew Starmer (29902); Curtis Yockey (29906); Brice Adkins (29907); Yessenia Becerra (29902); Kathryn Bosley (29907); Ariel Brosnan (29906); Christopher Catalano (29907); Lingtao Chen (29906); Chaely Corniel (29906); Kerry Dean (29906); Christine Flores (29906); Charley Fraley (29906); Alyson Gibson (29902); Cami Harris (29906); Morgan Howard (29906); Suchir Shetty (29902); Katie Shurling (29906); Jeremy Smalls (29906).

USCB is the fastest growing four-year institution within the University of South Carolina System. It offers 20 baccalaureate degrees on three campuses – Bluffton, Beaufort and Hilton Head Island.

District provides online Virtual Calming Room

As an added resource to address pandemic stress, the Beaufort County School District counseling department has released a web-based Virtual Calming Room for students, parents, and community members to easily access stress-reducing activities, to include: exercise and yoga, meditation and mindfulness, live-animal cams, resources and hotlines, as well as puzzles, games, and coloring activities.

“These quick and accessible resources can help people manage stress and emotions during this unprecedented time,” District Director of School Counseling Geri Henderson said. “Sometimes people need to take a moment out of their busy day to just breathe and the Virtual Calming Room can provide such an opportunity.”

The Virtual Calming Room can be found on the District website at Since the Virtual Calming Room has been released, it has been ranked among the top three web pages on the District’s website in terms of hits and activity.

Okatie’s Harrell honored at Kennesaw State

Amanda Harrell of Okatie was named to Kennesaw State University’s Dean’s List for the Fall 2020 semester. Students named to the Dean’s List were enrolled in at least nine credit hours of courses and earned a grade point average of at least a 3.5.

Kennesaw State University offers more than 150 undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees, is a member of the University System of Georgia, and is the third-largest university in the state.

Beaufort’s Dunning honored at Cedarville

Cedarville University recently released the fall 2020 Dean’s List and Beaufort’s Benjamin Dunning was on it. This recognition required Dunning to obtain a 3.75 GPA or higher for the semester and carry a minimum of 12 credit hours.

Located in southwest Ohio, Cedarville University is an accredited, Christ-centered, Baptist institution with an enrollment of 4,550 undergraduate, graduate, and online students in more than 150 areas of study. Founded in 1887, Cedarville is one of the largest private universities in Ohio.

Two locals earn a spot on the President’s List at Coastal Carolina

More than 900 undergraduate students at Coastal Carolina University were named to the Presdient’s List for the Fall 2020 semester. That’s 10 percent of the student body with a 4.0 GPA for the fall semester.

Those students include Will Durbin a Political Science major from Beaufort (29907) and Stephanie Mobley a Communication major from Okatie (29909).

Coastal Carolina University is a dynamic, public comprehensive liberal arts institution located in Conway. It offers baccalaureate degrees in 94 major fields of study.

Six locals honored at Lander

Lander University’s Mackenzie Carney of Okatie, Cristen Chassereau of Seabrook and Jessica Elkins of Beaufort are three of the undergraduate students who are recognized with the honor of making the President’s List during the first semester of the 2020/21 academic year.

To qualify for the President’s List, a student must earn a GPA of 4.0 over the course of the semester.

Three more locals – Andrew Luckey of Beaufort, Ashley Schatzle of Beaufort and McCayla Willingham of Beaufort – have been named to the Dean’s List. To qualify for the Dean’s List, a student must earn a grade-point average (GPA) between 3.5 and 3-9.