in Schools by

Two from Beaufort make USC Aiken Dean’s List

The University of South Carolina Aiken congratulates those students who made the Dean’s List for Spring 2020, including two students from Beaufort.

To earn this distinction, students must be enrolled full-time and maintain a GPA of at least 3.5.

The two Beaufort students on the list are Richard Campbell (29906), is majoring in Business Administration and Margaret Langford (29902) is majoring in Special Education

USC Aiken, a comprehensive university in the University of South Carolina system, offers undergraduate and master’s degrees to approximately 3,700 students in 50 programs of study.

Whale Branch grad earns scholarship

Whale Branch Early College High School’s Gajmere McLemore is one of 156 students who will leave for college armed with scholarships from Community Foundation of the Lowcountry.

McLemore, who will attend Clemson, was a recipient of the Lucrecia C. Lester Memorial Scholarship.

This is the 25th year the Community Foundation has awarded scholarships. More than $7.8 million has been awarded to over 1,000 deserving recipients. More than $717,600 in scholarship money was awarded this spring.

The Community Foundation currently manages 26 different scholarships that have been established by individuals, families, organizations and businesses. Donors develop specific criteria and guidelines that are important to them and can include academic achievement, civic engagement, a student’s level of need or other criteria. Some scholarships are one-time awards; others will follow the students throughout their academic careers, including graduate and/or professional school.

Beaufort’s Kalady on Alabama’s President’s List

Madelyn Kalady of Beaufort (29907) was named to The University of Alabama President’s List for spring 2020. A total of 16,470 students enrolled during the 2020 spring term at UA were named to the Dean’s List with an academic record of 3.5 or above or the President’s List with an academic record of 4.0 (all A’s).

Auerbacher named to Delaware Dean’s List

William Auerbacher of Beaufort has been named to the University of Delaware Dean’s List for the Spring 2020 semester.

To meet eligibility requirements for the Dean’s List, a student must be enrolled full-time and earn a GPA of 3.5 or above (on a 4.0 scale) for the semester.

Wofford announces Dean’s List

Michael J. Sosulski, provost of Wofford College, has announced Dean’s List students for the Spring 2020 semester. Beaufort students include Caroline Fleming, John Lesesne and Paige Zeigler. Zeigler earned a 4.0 GPA.

Wofford College, established in 1854, is a four-year, residential liberal arts college located in Spartanburg.