in Schools by

Hilton Head’s Bedenbaugh wins 2020 FLE Lighthouse Scholarship

The Foundation for Leadership Education (FLE) has awarded the 2020 Lighthouse Scholarship to Logan Bedenbaugh of Hilton Head Island High School.

Bedenbaugh recently graduated from Hilton Head Island High School and will be attending the University of South Carolina Honors Program in the Fall. She was the President of the Principal Advisory Council, Student Body President, a member of the National Honor Society, and a graduate of the Hilton Head Island Chamber of Commerce Junior Leadership Program.

The FLE was founded by local leaders of Beaufort County that represented business, community development, education, management, and the military. Armed with a vision to help “Prepare Tomorrow’s Leaders”, the group devotes itself to supporting programs with an unwavering commitment to developing well-rounded, open-minded critical thinkers preparing to be the problem-solvers of the future.

The organization provides post-secondary institution scholarships for high school students in Beaufort County. Seniors who display a strong propensity toward leadership as demonstrated through academics, community involvement, and/or extra-curricular activities, leadership activities, and positive character were invited to apply.

Student finalists were selected anonymously based on an application and essay, and then invited for an interview with a panel of three esteemed representatives.

Nine from Beaufort graduate College of Charleston

The College of Charleston awarded more than 1,500 undergraduate and graduate degrees in May 2020. The graduates, including nine from Beaufort, will be recognized by the College during a special ceremony tentatively planned for Oct. 11.

The following local students earned degrees:

Jennifer DuRant of Beaufort (29907) – Master of Arts in Teaching in Early Childhood Education.

Mya Belden of Beaufort, (29907) – Bachelor of Science in Supply Chain Management and an Undergraduate Certificate in Sustainability 21c Solutions.

Bailee Jones of Beaufort (29906) – Bachelor of Science in Biology.

Ella Madden of Beaufort (29907) – Bachelor of Arts in Psychology.

William Dukes of Beaufort (29907) – Bachelor of Arts in History.

Mary Bruns of Beaufort (29907) – Bachelor of Arts in Spanish Additional Major in Foreign Language Education.

Alyson Bushey of Beaufort (29907) – Bachelor of Science in Physical Education.

Rashae Rolle of Beaufort (29906) – Bachelor of Science in Accounting.

Hannah Shannon of Beaufort (29907) – Bachelor of Arts in Psychology.

Beaufort student earns scholarship to Wofford

Beaufort’s Grayson Price has received a merit scholarship to attend Wofford College.

Wofford, established in 1854, is a four-year, residential liberal arts college located in Spartanburg. It offers 27 major fields of study to a student body of 1,725 undergraduates.

Beaufort’s Franco graduates from Troy

Shawn Franco of Beaufort, graduated from Troy (Ala.) University during the Spring Semester/Term 4 of the 2019/2020 academic year. Franco graduated with a Graduate degree from the Sorrell College of Business while taking classes at Troy Online.

8 locals make Dean’s List at Lander

Lander University has announced the names of 642 outstanding undergraduates who have been named to the Dean’s List for earning top academic achievements during the first semester of the 2019-20 school year., including eight from northern Beaufort County.

To qualify for the Dean’s List, a student must earn a grade-point average (GPA) between 3.5 and 3.9. 

The northern Beaufort County students honored by Lander are Jessica Elkins, of Beaufort; Brynna Houston, of Beaufort; Andrew Luckey, of Beaufort; Hunter Merrill, of Beaufort; Michael Sackman, of Beaufort; Ashley Schatzle, of Beaufort; Chanel Williamson, of Saint Helena Island; and Amaria Pendleton, of Seabrook.

Logan Bedenbaugh (right) of Hilton Head Island High School