in Schools by

7 Beaufort County students earn Nu Delta Omega scholarships

Each year, the Nu Delta Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., awards scholarships to graduating seniors from Beaufort and Jasper County public schools who will be attending a four-year College/University.

The 2020 Nu Delta Omega Scholarship recipients are:

Savannah Bush – May River High School

Lawren Caldwell – Whale Branch Early College High School

Payten Grubbs – Beaufort High School

Kaitlyn Holland – Hilton Head Island High School

Liz Iglesias – May River High School

Jamyah Moore – Whale Branch Early Collehe High School

Sophia Sherman – Beaufort High School

“Congratulations to all of our 2020 Nu Delta Omega scholarship recipients,” Chapter President Dionne T. Young said in a release. “We are so so proud of the many accomplishments you have made during the past few years. In spite of COVID 19, you still remained positive and pressed on! Best wishes to each of you in your future endeavors.”

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is built on Sisterhood, Scholarship, and Service to All Humankind and the Nu Delta Omega chapter strives to uphold those principles. May the 2020 scholarship recipients enjoy their college experience and achieve their educational goals.

Nu Delta Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha, Inc. has served the  Beaufort and Jasper counties since it was chartered in 1980. Visit the chapter’s website ( or the sorority’s international website ( for more information.

Beaufort’s Auerbacher named to Delaware Dean’s List

William Auerbacher of Beaufort has been named to the University of Delaware Dean’s List for the Spring 2020 semester.

To meet eligibility requirements for the Dean’s List, a student must be enrolled full-time and earn a GPA of 3.5 or above (on a 4.0 scale) for the semester.

Wofford announces Dean’s List

Michael J. Sosulski, provost of Wofford College, has announced Dean’s List students for the Spring 2020 semester. Beaufort students include Caroline Fleming, John Lesesne and Paige Zeigler. Zeigler earned a 4.0 GPA.

Wofford College, established in 1854, is a four-year, residential liberal arts college located in Spartanburg.