Maria Walls

County Treasurer Walls announces re-election bid

From staff reports

Maria Walls, CPA, has announced the launch of her re-election campaign as Beaufort County’s Treasurer. Her campaign sent out an email Sunday, March 6.

”Defying the government stereotype is I am so passionate about breaking the government mold,” Walls said in a release. “My team and I have transformed Beaufort County’s Treasurer’s Office from a dilapidated bureaucracy to a service-centered, innovative leader in both the public and private sectors.”

Walls, a Republican, has been Beaufort County’s elected Treasurer since 2015 after serving four years as Deputy Treasurer. Election Day for 2022 is Tuesday, Nov. 8.

According to the Beaufort County website, in addition to being a Certified Public Accountant (CPA), Walls’ background includes auditing and tax experience for both a multinational CPA firm and, upon her arrival in Beaufort County, a local CPA firm.

Walls and her office have won numerous honors during her time as Treasurer. Walls and her team have received awards such as a 2020 National Achievement Award, County Executive of the Year, and SCGOP Local Government Award. Walls is also a two-time recipient of Thomson Reuters’ Office Holder of the Year, the only recipient to be awarded this prestigious honor twice, which recognizes government officials who have achieved excellence in planning, leadership, and service.

According to the Beaufort County website, the Treasurer is elected by the voters of Beaufort County to administer the collection of taxes, the primary source of revenue for Beaufort County’s local governments and agencies. For Beaufort County Government and School District, the Treasurer also acts as the chief banking and investment officer.

Among the priorities Walls listed in her re-election announcement were safeguarding tax dollars, putting customers first and creating leaders. Visit www.WallsforTreasurer.com for more information about Walls’ campaign.


Filing for candidates seeking elected office opens at noon on Wednesday, March 16 and closes at noon on Wednesday, March 30. U.S. Senator Tim Scott is up for election, as are Governor Henry McMaster and all U.S. and State House members. County Council seats representing districts 2 (Paul Sommerville), 4 (Alice Howard), 6 (Joe Passiment), 8 (Chris Hervochon), 9 (Mark Lawson), 10 (Lawrence McElynn), and 11 (Stu Rodman) are up for election, as well as the Beaufort County Sheriff.

Previous Story

Gunfire erupts on Seabrook street

Next Story


Latest from News

Lowcountry Lowdown

Third-bridge crossing an idea that just won’t die By Lolita Huckaby BEAUFORT Beaufort County Councilwoman Alice

Welcome Home!

Beaufort City Councilman Mitch Mitchell presents Bernice Wilson, of Port Royal, with a commemorative lapel pin