City Council selects Southside Park Task Force members

1 min read

From staff reports

City Council has appointed members to the Southside Park Advisory Task Force, which will advise council on improvements to the park before the City begins its next budget year on July 1.

Southside Park, in the Mossy Oaks neighborhood, comprises 34 acres and currently features green space, walking paths, a dog park, and restrooms.

Members of the Task Force include Ronald Ball, Jessica Chemsak, Alice Howard, Neil Irvin, Brenda Litchfield, Kristen Marshall Mattson, Elizabeth O’Brien, Tamara Volk-Pace, Gwen Speller, Bryan Thierry and Brantley Wilson.

Howard is a member of Beaufort County Council. Wilson is a candidate in the special election to fill now-Mayor Stephen Murray’s vacant City Council seat. Members include an environmental educator, a certified arborist, and several residents of the Southside neighborhood.

Councilman Neil Lipsitz is serving as a council liaison to the task force.

The task force was to hold an organizing meeting via Zoom on Feb. 1 streamed live on the City’s Facebook page.

Latest from Blog


Woman’s love of Beaufort redeemed I love Beaufort, because of the people. My daughter and I…