BHS wins Lower State title, sends 9 to state

2 mins read

4 Dolphins, 3 Warriors also qualify

Beaufort High qualified nine wrestlers for next week’s Class 4A State Championships and claimed the team title at the Lower State Championships on Saturday at Bluffton High School.

Matthew Durrance (132), Jacob Denton (138), and James Dagin (152) all claimed individual titles, and Marcus Spann (126) and Michael Cenci (170) finished second to lead a strong showing by the Eagles, who finished 25.5 points ahead of runner-up Airport. Robert Cruikshank (145), Jeremiah Simmons (160), and Theo Washington (195) placed third, and Gary Bayne (106) was fourth to round out Beaufort’s state qualifiers. 

In the Class 3A Lower State Championships at May River High School, Battery Creek’s Syncere Atkins won the 145-pound title to lead four qualifiers for the Dolphins. Chris Appleby (152) was third, and Larson McManigle (138) and Alex Linares (160) placed fourth.

At the Class 2A/1A Lower State Championships at Timberland High School, the Whale Branch trio of Richard Parker (second, 132), De’Arius Hazel (third, 195) and Zakariya Williams (third, 220) each qualified.

The state championships are Friday and Saturday in Anderson.

Photo at top: Beaufort High’s Matthew Durrance puts the squeeze on Airportís Alfonso Chavero in the finals of the 132-pound weight class at Saturdayís Class 4A Lower State Championships at Bluffton High School. Durrance pinned Chavero to win the individual title. Photo by Justin Jarrett.

All-Region 7-4A Honors Announced

Beaufort High’s Ron Lanham was named the Coach of the Year and three wrestlers shared Wrestler of the Year honors in the Region 7-4A awards announced Thursday.

Hilton Head High’s James Levy (113 pounds), Colleton County’s Wyatt O’Quinn (132) and Beaufort’s James Dagin (152) were voted the co-Wrestlers of the Year.

Region champion Beaufort High led the way with six All-Region selections, followed by Colleton County with four, Hilton Head High with three, and Bluffton with one. Marcus Spann (126), Jacob Denton (138), Robert Cruikshank (145), James Dagin (152), Jeremiah Simmons (160) and Michael Cenci (170) represented the Eagles on the team.

Latest from Blog


Woman’s love of Beaufort redeemed I love Beaufort, because of the people. My daughter and I…