Beaufort County Council re-elects Chair, Vice-Chair

1 min read

New County Council member Cunningham sworn in

From staff reports

Beaufort County Council members re-elected Council Member Joe Passiment (District 6), as County Council Chairman on Monday.

Joe Passiment

Council Member D. Paul Sommerville (District 2), was re-elected as vice-chairman, as well. The chair and vice-chair are elected to two-year terms (2021-2022).

Paul Sommerville

Passiment was elected Chairman in March when former Council Chairman Stu Rodman was pressured to resign. Rodman remains on County Council.

Also on Monday, re-elected and newly-elected members of Beaufort County Council were sworn in at 10 a.m., by the Honorable Marvin H. Dukes, III, Beaufort County Master-in-Equity.

Logan Cunningham

New Council member Logan Cunningham (District 7) – who defeated Jody Srutek in the race for the seat of Mike Covert, who ran for state office – was sworn in.

Councilmen Gerald Dawson (District 1), York Glover (District 3) and Brian Flewelling (District 5) re-affirmed their oath after their re-election.

Beaufort County Council meetings are broadcast live on The County Channel at and on Comcast Ch. 2, Hargray Chs. 9 and 113, and Spectrum Ch. 1304.

Latest from Blog


Woman’s love of Beaufort redeemed I love Beaufort, because of the people. My daughter and I…