BA seniors graduate with 100% college acceptance

Beaufort Academy’s 17 seniors averaged 1,783 on their SAT — almost 300 points above the 2010 national average — and all 17 gained acceptance to the college of their choice, according to Sheldon Clark, director of college advising at BA.

The seniors earned more than $1.3 million in scholarships and grants, including a National Merit Scholarship to Lily Westergaard, Heritage Foundation Scholarship, three SC Palmetto Fellows and 12 Life scholarships along with Rotary, South Carolina General Assembly Women’s Caucus,  LeVeen/Roach and other community, state, national, and university scholarships.

“The Class of 2011 embraced the core values of Beaufort Academy: Intellect, Respect, Integrity, Leadership, and Pride.  The students demonstrated these values during the Interim Session by participating in real world experiences, challenging themselves academically while contributing to the community through internships and service projects,”  said Herb Gray, president of the Beaufort Academy Board of Trustees.

On the SAT college prep exam, Beaufort Academy’s 17 seniors averaged 621 on critical reading, 583 on math and 579 in writing. The 2010 national average SAT was 1,509 and Beaufort County’s public students averaged 1,416.

On the ACT college exam, Beaufort Academy’s seniors had a mean score of 27 compared to the national average of 21 — and South Carolina’s average of 20.

Beaufort Academy is a private, college preparatory K-12 school on Lady’s Island that serves families from primarily northern Beaufort County.

college choices for ba grads include:

• Natalie Aitken: Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD)

• Nathaniel Akers: College of Charleston

• Jaymie Baggerly: College of Charleston

• Matthew Bass: Washington and Lee University

• Taylor DellaValle: San Diego State

• Patrick Ferri, Jr.: College of Charleston

• Bennett Fultz: University of Kentucky

• Christopher Huckabee: Georgia Tech

• Ethan Kindwall: The Citadel

• Leif Koppernaes: College of Charleston

• Stefan Moser: SCAD

• Peter Olsson: American University

• Connelly Rhodin: College of Charleston

• Bianca Sanchez: Wake Forest University

• George Verity: SCAD

• Patrick Walker: College of Charleston

• Lily Westergaard: Georgetown University

• Graduates were also accepted to Brandeis, Clemson, Eastern Kentucky, Furman, High Point, Mercer, Northeastern, Ole Miss, Skidmore, US Merchant Marine Academy, University of Colorado, University of Puget Sound, University of South Carolina, University of Vermont and Wheaton College.



Previous Story

Beaufort County School District Summer Camps

Next Story

Beaufort Academy Awards

Latest from Schools

Bring back the books

Speakers overwhelmingly oppose school district’s removal of books at board meeting By Mike McCombs Public speakers