8 Beaufort Academy students named AP Scholars

in Education by

From staff reports

Eight students from Beaufort Academy earned the designation of AP Scholar by the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement Program (AP) Exams.

One student — Albert (Cal) Harvey, class of 2020 — qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.

Seven students — Emma Dillinger, Bryce Hage, Jenny Harry, Alyssa Lewis, Emilie Claire Nason, Chase Vaigneur, and Jane Ward — qualified for the AP Scholar by completing three or more AP Examinations, with grades of 3 or higher. Three of the students graduated with the class of 2020, while Dillinger, Lewis, and Nason are members of the class of 2021.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program provides motivated and academically prepared students the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performances on the AP exams.

About 27 percent of the more than 2.6 million high school students worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a level to also earn an AP Scholar Award.

Students took AP Exams in May 2020 after completing the challenging college-level courses at their high schools. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP exams.

Most of the nation’s colleges and universities award college credit, advanced placement, or both based on successful performance on the AP exams.