2016 Civitas Award winners announced

in Business by

The Beaufort Regional Chamber of Commerce hosted the 2016 Civitas Awards Gala presented by Lockheed Martin on Friday, June 3 at Tabby Place in the heart of downtown Beaufort. The annual Civitas Awards recognize outstanding businesses, organizations, and individuals who are exemplary in our region. During the Civitas Awards Gala, the chamber also honored the Teachers of the Year in Beaufort County as well as retired and active duty military personnel.

Thank you to all of this year’s sponsors: Lockheed Martin, Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport, The Beaufort Inn, Lowcountry Jaycees, Amaris Bank, UnitedWay of the Lowcountry, Cuthbert House Inn, Bank of America & Merrill Lynch, T.W.E.A.C, Hargray, Jimmy & Robin Boozer, and Leadership Beaufort Alumni.

2016 Civitas Award Winners

Tourism Leadership 

The Beaufort Inn

Outstanding Employee 2016

Margo Wehrenberg, Beaufort Memorial Hospital

Outstanding Lowcountry Young Professional 2016

Kevin E. Dukes

Outstanding Leadership Beaufort Alumni 2016

John Troutman

Outstanding Non-Profit 2016

Lowcountry Habitat For Humanity

Community Stewardship 2016

Carolina Sportscare & Physical Therapy

Spirit Of Main Street 2016

Anchorage 1770 Inn

Regional Excellence In Free Enterprise 2016

Flint Group Beaufort

Non-Commissioned Officer Of The Year 2016

Corporal Daniel L. Odom, Usmc

Junior Enlisted Service Member Of The Year 2016

Lance Corporal Jimmy J. Vertus, Usmc

Military Citizenship Award 2016

James W. Boozer

Lifetime Of Leadership 2016

Martin Goodman

Top photo: The chamber honored members of the military at the 2016 Civitas Awards. Photos by Susan DeLoach.